Content Skip to content.
San Diego State University

Career Services

    Department Internship Contacts

    A note to students: Some majors require you to complete an internship.  Some employers will require you to earn credit while completing an internship with their organization.  Or you may want to have an internship course on your transcript. If any of this applies to you, consult the Department Internship Contact for your major/program. If you are completing an unpaid internship, you MUST be enrolled in an internship course (see the Internship Definition & Characteristic Matrix).

    Below is the contact information for each of the Department Internship Contact. To find a specific department, click on the letter corresponding to that department's name.  Click the major/program link to go to the department's website.

    Department Internship Contacts by Major

        [quick jump]  A - B - CD - E - F - G - H - I - J - L - M - NPR - S - T - UW 

    Major/
    Program
    CollegeInternship
    Type
     Academic Internship Coordinator
     EmailPhone
     Accounting Business
     UndergraduateMichelle Svay
    msvay@mail.sdsu.edu(619) 594-0435
    Advertising  PSFA Undergraduate Nicole Vargas
    nvargas@mail.sdsu.edu

    (619) 594-1007

    (email preffered) 

    Anthropology  Arts & Letters UndergraduateDr. Todd Brajetbraje@mail.sdsu.edu(619) 594-5668
    Anthropology  Arts & Letters Graduate Internships Matt Lauermlauer@mail.sdsu.edu(619) 594-0978
    Art PSFA Undergraduate (not Interior & Graphic Design)
    Mark Siprutmsiprut@mail.sdsu.edu(619) 594-2850
    Art PSFA Undergraduate Graphic DesignGary Benzelgbenzel@mail.sdsu.edu
    (619) 594-6511
    Art PSFA Undergraduate Art and Design
     Kotaro Nakamura, AIA
    art.advising@sdsu.edu(619) 594-2850
    Astronomy
     Sciences  Undergraduate & Graduate Maureen Crawford
     mcrawford@mail.sdsu.edu (619) 594-1813
     Biology Sciences Undergraduate & Graduate  Maureen Crawford mcrawford@mail.sdsu.edu (619) 594-1813
     Business Business Undergraduate & MBAMichelle Svaymsvay@mail.sdsu.edu(619) 594-0435
     Chemistry Sciences Undergraduate & Graduate  Maureen Crawford  mcrawford@mail.sdsu.edu (619) 594-1813
    Chicana/o Studies Arts & LettersUndergraduateMaria Ibarra, Ph.D.
    m1ibarra@mail.sdsu.edu(619) 594-0656
    Child & Family Development
    Education
     Undergraduate Hsing-Chen Tung, Ed.D.
    cfd.sla@sdsu.edu(619) 594-4445
    Child & Family Development Education Undergraduate Advisor Pamela Gardner, M.S.
     pgardner@mail.sdsu.edu(619) 594-7035
     City Planning
    PSFA Undergraduate & Graduate
    Patricia A. Frosio
    pfrosio@mail.sdsu.edu(619) 594-5576

     Communication

    PSFA

     

    Undergraduate

     

     Kathleen Czech, Ph.D.
     kczech@mail.sdsu.edu(619) 594-1368
    Computer Science  Sciences  Undergraduate & Graduate Maureen Crawford mcrawford@mail.sdsu.edu (619) 594-1813
    Criminal Justice
     PSFAUndergraduate & GraduatePatricia A. Frosio pfrosio@mail.sdsu.edu(619) 594-5576
     Dance PSFA Undergraduate & Graduate
     Eric Starr, D.M.A
    estarr@mail.sdsu.edu (619) 594-0144

    Economics

     Arts & Letters

     Undergradaute & Graduate

    *Deptment does not approve unpaid internships

     Kangoh Lee, Ph.D.  klee@mail.sdsu.edu (619) 594-8496
    English & Comparative Lit. Arts & LettersUndergraduate & GraduateDr. June Cumminsjcummins@mail.sdsu.edu(619) 594-5442
    English & Comparative Lit. Arts & LettersUndergraduate Philip Serrato, Ph.D. pserrato@mail.sdsu.edu
     (619) 594-5170
     Entrepreneurship  Business Undergraduate

    Michelle Svay

    msvay@mail.sdsu.edu(619) 594-0435
    Entrepreneurship  Business

    Undergraduate & Graduate

    (Lavin Entrepreneurship Center) 

    Cyrus Mostashari
    cmostashari-w@sdsu.edu(619) 246-5235
    Environmental Sciences
    Sciences
     UndergraduateJohn Love, Ph.D. jlove@mail.sdsu.edu(619) 594-5386
    European Studies Arts & Letters Undergraduate Veronica Shapovalov, Ph.D.
     veronica.shapovalov@
    sdsu.edu
    (619) 594-7147
    Exercise & Nutritional Sciences
    Health & Human Services
    Undergraduate Kinesiology/Fitness and Kinesiology/Generalist Majors Suzanne Meredith, B.A, CPT, RTCsmeredith@mail.sdsu.edu
    (619) 594-5541
     Exercise & Nutritional Sciences Health & Human Services Undergraduate Athletic Training Lea Thomann, DPT lthomann@mail.sdsu.edu(619) 594-4094
    Exercise & Nutritional SciencesHealth & Human Services Undergraduate internships (Dietetic Internship Advising) Joan Rupp, MS, RD rupp@mail.sdsu.edu (619) 594-3916
     Exercise & Nutritional SciencesHealth & Human Services Graduate Exercise Physiology & Dual Master's Degree in Exercise Physiology/NutritionSuzanne Meredith, B.A, CPT, RTCsmeredith@mail.sdsu.edu (619) 594-5541 
    Finance
     Business UndergraduateMichelle Svay msvay@mail.sdsu.edu(619) 594-0435
    Financial Planning / Services  Business UndergraduateMichelle Svay msvay@mail.sdsu.edu (619) 594-0435
    French Studies
    Arts & Letters Undergraduate Anne Donadey, Ph.D.  adonadey@mail.sdsu.edu(619) 594-0815
    Geography Arts & Letters UndergraduateDiana Gauss Richardson
     drichard@mail.sdsu.edu(619) 594-5476
     Geology Sciences Undergraduate & Graduate  Maureen Crawford mcrawford@mail.sdsu.edu (619) 594-1813
    German Studies
    Arts & Letters Undergraduate Kristin Rebien, Ph.D.
     krebien@mail.sdsu.edu(619) 594-5128
     Gerontology Health & Human Services

     Undergraduate

    *Only open to Gerentology Majors 

     Candy Elson, MSW

    swfield@mail.sdsu.edu 

    (619) 594-5144
    Health Professions Advising Office
     Sciences Undergraduate Gwen Hill
     ghill@mail.sdsu.edu  (619) 594-3553
    History Arts & LettersUndergraduate Internships in Public HistorySara S. Elkind, Ph.D.selkind@mail.sdsu.edu(619) 594-0930
    Hospitality & Tourism Management PSFA
     Undergraduate Christina Jeffries cjeffries@mail.sdsu.edu(619) 594-0390
    Human Resources Business
     UndergraduateMichelle Svay msvay@mail.sdsu.edu(619) 594-0435
    International Business
    Arts & Letters/ Business
     Undergraduate Marisela LaPlante
     mlaplante@mail.sdsu.edu(619) 594-4505
    International Security & Conflict Resolution Arts & Letters/ PSFA/ Sciences
     Undergraduate Allen Greb, Ph.D.
    iscor@mail.sdsu.edu(619) 594-3768
     Italian Studies
    Arts & Letters Undergraduate Clarissa Clo, Ph.D.
    cclo@mail.sdsu.edu(619) 594-1131
    Japanese Arts & Letters  Undergraduate Yoshiko Higurashi, Ph.D.  yhigurashi@mail.sdsu.edu (619) 594-1005
    Jewish Studies Arts & LettersUndergraduate
    Risa Levitt-Kohn, Ph.D.
    rkohn@mail.sdsu.edu
    (619) 594-5327
    Journalism  PSFA Undergraduate Nicole Vargas
     nvargas@mail.sdsu.edu

    (619) 594-1007

    (email preffered) 

     Journalism  PSFA Graduate  Marcie Bober-Michel, Ph.D. bober@mail.sdsu.edu (619) 594-0587
    Latin American Studies Arts & LettersUndergraduateMireya Mateo clasintr@mail.sdsu.edu
    619-594-1103 
    Leadership Minor
     Education Undergraduate Lisa Gates, Ph.D.
    lgates@mail.sdsu.edu (619) 594-1961
    LGBT Studies
    Arts & Letters Undergraduate & Graduate Susan Cayleff, Ph.D. cayleff@mail.sdsu.edu(619) 594-5943
    Linguistics & Asian/Middle Eastern Languages
    Arts & Letters Graduate Betty Samraj, Ph.D.
     bsamraj@mail.sdsu.edu(619) 594-1910
    Management
    Business
     UndergraduateMichelle Savymsvay@mail.sdsu.edu
    (619) 594-2899
     Management Business Undergraduate Michael Sloan
    msloan@mail.sdsu.edu(858) 449-9419
    Management Information Systems
    Business UndergraduateMichelle Svay msvay@mail.sdsu.edu(619) 594-0435
     Marketing  Business UndergraduateMichelle Svay msvay@mail.sdsu.edu(619) 594-0435
     Mathematics  Sciences Undergraduate & Graduate Maureen Crawfordmcrawford@mail.sdsu.edu(619) 594-1813
    Media Studies PSFA UndergraduateNicole Vargas  nvargas@mail.sdsu.edu

    (619) 594-5679

    (email preffered) 

    MESA Program EngineeringUndergraduate STEM
     Natasha Celise
    ncelise@mail.sdsu.edu
    (619) 594-5679 
    Music
    PSFA
    Undergraduate & Graduate
    Eric Starr, D.M.Aestarr@mail.sdsu.edu(619) 594-0144
    Nursing Health & Human ServicesUndergraduateJoan Hall, MSN, APRN, BC
    jhall2@mail.sdsu.edu(858) 361-8041
     Physics Sciences Undergraduate & Graduate Maureen Crawford mcrawford@mail.sdsu.edu (619) 594-1813
    Political Science  Arts & LettersUndergraduate DC & Sacramento ProgramRonnee Schreiber, Ph.D.rschreib@mail.sdsu.edu
    (619) 594-5208
     Psychology  Sciences   Undergraduate & Graduate Donalene Bergerdberger@mail.sdsu.edu (619) 594-3755
    Public Adminstration
    PSFA
     Undergraduate & GraduatePatricia A. Frosio
     pfrosio@mail.sdsu.edu (619) 594-5576
      Public Health Health & Human ServicesGraduateKaren Bergmannkbergmann@mail.sdsu.edu(619) 594-2393
    Public Health Health & Human ServicesUndergraduateKristen Emory, Ph.D.
     PHundergrad@mail.sdsu.edu (619) 594-1623
    Public Relations
     PSFAUndergraduate Nicole Vargas
     nvargas@mail.sdsu.edu

    (619) 594-1007

    (email preffered) 

    Real Estate
    Business
    Undergraduate Melissa Abeyta, M.A. mabeyta@mail.sdsu.edu (619) 594-8323
     Real Estate
    BusinessUndergraduateMichelle Svay msvay@mail.sdsu.edu(619) 594-0435
    Recreation & Tourism Management PSFAUndergraduateKJ Lecesne
    klecesne@sdsu.edu 
    Regulatory Affairs Sciences
    UndergraduateLorah Bodie, Ed.D.
    lbodie@mail.sdsu.edu(619) 594-0124
    Russian Studies
    Arts & Letters
    Undergraduate  Veronica Shapovalov, Ph.D.  veronica.shapovalov@
    sdsu.edu
     (619) 594-7147
    School Psychology  EducationSchool Psychology Ed.S.
     Tonika Duren Green, Ph.D., NCSP tduren@mail.sdsu.edu (619) 594-4467
    Social Science Research Lab
    Arts & LettersGraduate Dipthi BattapadiDbattapadi@mail.sdsu.edu (619) 594-1671
    Social Work
    Health & Human Services
     Undergraduate Field Internships Kim Archuletta

     swfield@mail.sdsu.edu 

     (619) 594-5803
    Sociology
    Arts & LettersUndergraduate
     Norma Ojeda, Ph.D.
    nojeda@mail.sdsu.edu
    (619) 594-1320
    Speech, Language & Hearing Sciences
    Health & Human Services

    Graduate & Doctoral

    (Audiology only)

      Christy Kirschckirsch@mail.sdsu.edu(619) 594-4176
     Speech, Language & Hearing Sciences Health & Human Services

     Graduate & Doctoral

    (Speech-Language only)

    Charlotte Lopesclopes@mail.sdsu.edu (619) 594-8051
    Statistics
     Sciences Undergraduate & Graduate  Maureen Crawford mcrawford@mail.sdsu.edu (619) 594-1813
     Sustainability Arts & Letters 

     Undergraduate 

     Savanna Schuermannsschuermann@mail.sdsu.edu (619) 594-6189
    Theater, Television, and New Media
    PSFA
    Undergraduate & Graduate  Eric Starr, D.M.Aestarr@mail.sdsu.edu(619) 594-0144
    Theater PSFAGraduate (MFA Musical Theater Program) InternshipsRobert MeffeRMeffe@mail.sdsu.edu
    Urban Studies
    Arts & LettersUndergraduateDr. Pascale Marcelli
    pmarcelli@mail.sdsu.edu (619) 594-0906
    Women's Studies
    Arts & Letters UndergraduateDoreen Mattingly, Ph.D.
    mattingl@mail.sdsu.edu
    (619) 594-8033

    Updates & corrections

    The information on this page is updated regularly. If you have information about internships not listed here or corrections to this information, please contact the Campus Internship Coordinator.