Content Skip to content.
San Diego State University

School of Teacher Education logo

Our Faculty

Faculty in the School of Teacher Education are known nationally and internationally for their work in teacher education, for their expertise in teaching in culturally and linguistically diverse classrooms, and for their in-depth understanding of teaching the content areas.

They serve as elected officers and board members of prestigious state, national, and international educational organizations. They are active researchers, as well as expert teachers, and are well-versed in research that informs the field about best practices in education.

Faculty in the School of Teacher Education are committed to ensuring that principles of equity and social justice are made real by working with prospective and experienced teachers to help create learning environments in which all students succeed to their highest potential. 

Tenure-Track Faculty

Cristian R. Aquino-Sterling, Ph.D.

Cristian R. Aquino-Sterling, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Phone: 619-594-6675
Email: caquino@sdsu.edu

More About Dr. Aquino-Sterling

Lynne Bercaw

Lynne Bercaw, Ed.D.

Professor and Director

Phone: 619-594-3090
Email: lbercaw@sdsu.edu

More about Dr. Bercaw

Nadine S. Bezuk, Ph.D.

Nadine S. Bezuk, Ph.D.

Qualcomm Endowed Professor and Associate Dean

Phone: 619-594-1370
Email: nbezuk@sdsu.edu

More about Dr. Bezuk

Andre J. Branch, Ph.D.

André J. Branch, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Phone: 619-594-2722
Email: abranch@sdsu.edu

Marva Cappello, Ph.D.

Marva Cappello, Ph.D.

Professor

Phone: 619-594-1322
Email: cappello@sdsu.edu

More about Dr. Cappello

Alexander Chizhik, Ph.D.

Alexander Chizhik, Ph.D.

Professor

Phone: 619-594-1222
Email: achizhik@sdsu.edu

More about Dr. Chizhik

Estella Chizhik, Ph.D.

Estella Chizhik, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Phone: 619-594-0971
Email: chizhik@sdsu.edu

Luke Duesbery, Ph.D.

Luke Duesbery, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Phone: 619-594-8964
Email: duesbery@sdsu.edu

More about Dr. Duesbery

Ronald Evans, Ed.D.

Ronald Evans, Ed.D.

Professor

Phone: 619-594-6624
Email: revans@sdsu.edu

Personal Website

Nancy Farnan, Ph.D.

Nancy Farnan, Ph.D.

Professor Emerita

Email: nfarnan@sdsu.edu

 

Margaret Gallego, Ph.D.

Professor

Phone: 619-594-2707
Email: mgallego@sdsu.edu

Meredith Houle Vaughn, Ph.D.

Meredith Houle Vaughn, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Phone: 619-594-3378 & 619-594-3389
Email: mhoule@sdsu.edu

Lisa Lamb, Ph.D.

Lisa Lamb, Ph.D.

Professor

Phone: 619-594-5130 & 619-594-0774
Email: lisa.lamb@sdsu.edu

More about Dr. Lamb

Diane Lapp, Ph.D.

Diane Lapp, Ph.D.

Distinguished Professor of Education and Professor Emerita

Email: lapp@sdsu.edu

More about Dr. Lapp

Barbara Moss, Ph.D.

Barbara Moss, Ph.D.

Professor Emerita

Email: bmoss@sdsu.edu

More about Dr. Moss

Jesus Nieto, Ph.D.

Jesus Nieto, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Phone: 619-594-6125
Email: nieto@sdsu.edu

Valerie Ooka Pang, Ph.D.

Valerie Ooka Pang, Ph.D.

Professor

Phone: 619-594-6286
Email: pang@sdsu.edu

Cynthia Darche Park, Ph.D.

Cynthia Darché Park, Ph.D.

Professor

Phone: 619-594-2349
Email: cpark@sdsu.edu

Randy Philipp, Ph.D.

Randy Philipp, Ph.D.

Professor

Phone: 619-594-1371 & 619-594-2361
Email: rphilipp@sdsu.edu

More about Dr. Philipp

Donna Ross, Ph.D.

Donna Ross, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Phone: 619-594-6129 & 619-594-4494
Email: dlross@sdsu.edu

Pamela Ross, Ph.D. 

Pamela Ross, Ph.D.

Professor Emerita

Phone: 619-594-7033
Email: pross@sdsu.edu

Rafaela Santa Cruz, Ph.D.

Rafaela Santa Cruz, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Phone: 619-594-1120
Email: rsantacruz@sdsu.edu

Katie Sciurba

Katie Sciurba, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Phone: 619-594-1625
E-mail: ksciurba@sdsu.edu

Melissa Soto, Ph.D.

Melissa Soto, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Phone: 619-594-0160
Email: melissa.soto@sdsu.edu

More about Dr. Soto

Lecturer Faculty

 

 

Leah L. Anderson, Ph.D.

Lecturer

Email: leah.anderson2@gmail.com

Lisa Carney Farwell

Lisa Carney Farwell, M.A.

Lecturer

Phone: 619-594-0352
Email: lcarneyfarwell@sdsu.edu

Constantina Burrow, M.B.A.

Dina Burrow, M.B.A.

Lecturer

Phone: 619-594-6131
Email: dinaburow@gmail.com

Pedro Caro

Pedro Caro, Ed.D.

Lecturer      

Phone: 619-594-6131
Email: pcaro@sdsu.edu

Catherine Close, M.A.

Catherine Close, M.A.

Lecturer

Phone: 619-594-7175
Email: czclose550@gmail.com

Gloria Davies

Gloria Davies, M.A.

Lecturer

Phone: 619-594-0352
Email: gdavies@sdsu.edu

 

Kimberley De Berzunza, M.A.

Lecturer

Email:kdeberzunza@sdsu.edu

 

Cassandra Drake-Singh, M.A.

TA

Email: cassandradrake.teachered@gmail.com

 

Nina J. Drammissi, Ed.D.

Lecturer

Email: drammissi@gmail.com

Kyra Freeburg

 Kyra Freeburg, M.S.

Lecturer

Phone: 619-594-6667
Email: kfreeburg@sdsu.edu
Joseph Garland

Joseph Garland, M.A.

Lecturer

Email: jgarland@sandi.net

Kristin Gibson

Kristin Gibson, M.A.

Lecturer

Email:kgibson@sdsu.edu

Eric Ginsberg

Eric Ginsberg, M.A.

Lecturer

Phone: 619-594-7229
Email: eginsberg@sdsu.edu

Christine Jackson

Christine Jackson, M.A.

Lecturer

Email: christine.jackson@cvesd.org

Kelly Johnson

Kelly Johnson, Ph.D.      

Lecturer

Phone: 619-594-6146
Email: kelly.johnson@sdsu.edu  

Karen Lafferty

Karen Lafferty, Ph.D.

Lecturer

Email:klafferty@sdsu.edu

Kelly Leon

Kelly Leon, M.A.

Lecturer

Email: kleon@sdsu.edu

 

Debora Justeson, M.A.     

Lecturer

Phone: 619-594-6131
Email: djusteson@sdsu.edu

 
 Virginia Loh-Hagan, Ph.D.

Virginia Loh-Hagan, Ph.D.      

Program Director, Liberal Studies

Phone: 619-594-6131
Email: vloh-hagan@sdsu.edu

Amanda Matas, Ph.D.

Amanda Matas, Ph.D.      

Lecturer

Phone: 619-594-6131
Email: mandymatas@hotmail.com

 
 

Rachel Stein Meisner, Ph.D.

Lecturer

Email: chemistryrockstar@yahoo.com

Colby Nodruft

Colby Nodurft, M.A.

Lecturer

Email: cnodurft@mail.sdsu.edu

 

Jeremiah Potter, M.A.

Lecturer

Email: juliemg123@yahoo.com

Carol Prime

Carol Prime, M.A.

Lecturer

Phone: 760-822-1028
Email: prime@mail.sdsu.edu

 

Wendy Ranck-Buhr, Ph.D.      

Lecturer

Phone: 619-594-6131
Email: wendylee4@mac.com

 
 

Elizabeth Rozich, Ph.D.

Lecturer

Email:erozich@sdsu.edu

Ixchel A. Samson

Ixchel A. Samson, Ph.D.

Lecturer

Email:isamson@sdsu.edu

 

Al Schleicher

TA

Email: aschleicher@sdsu.edu

Kris Rodenberg

Kris Rodenberg, Ph.D.      

Lecturer

Phone: 619-594-6493
Email: jkrodenberg@sdsu.edu

 
Emily M. Schell, Ed.D.

Emily M. Schell, Ed.D.

Lecturer

Phone: 619-594-1239
Email: eschell@mail.sdsu.edu

 

Lisa Sparaco, Ph.D.      

Lecturer

Phone: 619-594-0352
Email: lsparaco@mail.sdsu.edu  

 
 

Debora Tamanaja-Justeson, M.A.

Lecturer

Email: djusteson@icloud.com

 

David Tupper, M.A.

Lecturer

Email: dtupper@lsusd.net

 

Gina Vattuone, M.A.

Lecturer

Email:gvattuone@sdsu.edu

 

Amy R. Vigil, M.A.

Lecturer

Email: avigil18@yahoo.com

 

E. Rocio Weiss, Ed.D.

Lecturer

Email:eweiss@sdsu.edu