Skip To Content
SDSU Logo
 

Department of Educational Leadership

Department of Educational Leadership

Faculty & Staff
Department of Educational Leadership
Aerial view of SDSU library

On this page:  Meet the faculty and staff who comprise the Department of Educational Leadership team.


Full-Time Faculty

Doug Fisher, Ph.D.

Doug Fisher, Ph.D.

Chair, Department of Educational Leadership

Phone: 619-594-2507
Email: dfisher@sdsu.edu
Office: NE162C
Research interests: Instructional improvement; English learners; school-wide change; literacy leadership; qualitative research; struggling learners

Ian Pumpian

Ian Pumpian, Ph.D.

Professor of Educational Leadership

Phone: 619-594-8395
Email: ipumpian@sdsu.edu
Office: NE162E 
Research interests: Urban education reform; organizing urban educational institutions to improve student achievement and effectively prepare and support educators and other professionals for careers in culturally diverse urban areas

Cheryl James-Ward, Ed.D.

Cheryl James-Ward, Ed.D.

Associate Professor, Director, EDL MA Online Program

Phone: 619-594-2566
Email: cward@sdsu.edu
Office: NE162J
Research interests: Qualities/characteristics of successful principals in low performing schools; leadership coaching; 21st century teaching and skill sets

Nancy Frey, Ph.D.

Nancy Frey, Ph.D.

Professor of Educational Leadership

Phone: 619-594-3355
Email: nfrey@sdsu.edu
Office: NE162G
Research interests: Elementary and secondary reading instruction, literacy in content areas, and supporting students with diverse learning needs

Cynthia Uline, Ph.D.

Cynthia Uline, Ph.D.

Professor of Educational Leadership (FERP)

Phone: 619-594-3949
Email: culine@sdsu.edu
Office: NE162M
Research interests: Educational leadership; educational facilities planning and design; school change and improvement

 Wright J

James Wright, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Phone: 619-594-3175
Email: jwright6@sdsu.edu
Office: NE162L
Research interests: Culturally responsive school leadership discourses and practices and equitable educational opportunities and outcomes for students; and effective community engagement for communities of color 

James M. Marshall, Ph.D.

James M. Marshall, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, EDD PK-12 Director

Phone: 619-594-0153
Email: marshall@sdsu.edu
Office: NE162C
Research interests: Learning with technology, instructional design, change management, collaborative partnerships, assessment, and program evaluation

Park V2

Vicki Park, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Phone: 619-594-2874
Email:vpark@sdsu.edu
Office: NE162B
Research interests: School improvement, organizational learning, policy implementation, professional collaboration, and qualitative methodologies

Lecturers

David

David Lorden, Ed.D.

Lecturer of Educational Leadership

Karen Janney - Square

Karen Janney, Ed.D.

Lecturer of Educational Leadership


Photo: Francisco Escobedo

Francisco Escobedo, Ed.D.

Lecturer of Educational Leadership

oram.jpg

Christopher Oram, Ed.D.

Lecturer of Educational Leadership

jcook

Janice Cook, Ed.D.

Lecturer of Educational Leadership

Photo: Toni Faddis

Toni Faddis, Ed.D.

Lecturer of Educational Leadership


jkroener

Julie Kroener, Ed.D.

Lecturer of Educational Leadership

Staff

rstewart1

Rachael Stewart

Department Coordinator, Educational Leadership

Phone: 619-594-1338
Email: rstewart@sdsu.edu

Department of Educational Leadership

EDL@sdsu.edu | 619-594-4063