Content Skip to content.
San Diego State University

SDSU Department of Dual Language and English Learner Education (formerly Policy Studies in Language & Cross-Cultural Education)

Faculty

Cristina Alfaro faculty picture 2017

Cristina Alfaro, Ph.D.

Professor
Phone: 619.594.5155
Alberto Esquinca faculty

Alberto Esquinca, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Phone: 619.594.5155
Read More About Dr. Alberto Esquinca
Sera Hernandez, faculty photo

Sera Hernandez, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Phone: 619.594.1943
Read More About Dr. Sera Hernandez
machadocasas_faculty_pic.jpeg

Margarita Machado-Casas, Ph.D.

Department Chair/Professor
Phone: 619.594.5155
Email: mmachadocasas@sdsu.edu
Read More About Dr. Margarita Machado-Casas
Saul Maldonado

Saul I. Maldonado, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Phone: 619.594.2276
Email: smaldonado@sdsu.edu
 

Emeritus Faculty

Karen Cadiero-Kaplan, Ph.D.

Karen Cadiero-Kaplan, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus
Jill Mora

Jill Mora, Ed.D.

Professor
Email: jmora@sdsu.edu
Alberto M. Ochoa, Ed.D

Alberto M. Ochoa, Ed.D.

Professor Emeritus

ASL Lecturers

adam_facpic.jpg

Adam Frost, M.A.

ASL Lecturer

Email: adam.frost@sdsu.edu
Read More About Adam Frost

   

Janette Dorricott, M.A.

ASL Lecturer

Email: jedorricott@gmail.com

 

Svenna Pedersen, M.A.

ASL Lecturer

Email: svenna.pedersen@sdsu.edu


Lecturers

Faculty that serve in a variety of contexts for the MS and SS Bilingual Credential programs. All are experienced in teaching and learning methodology in the bilingual classroom context.

Guillermo Castillo

Guillermo Castillo, M.A.

Lecturer
Email: gcastillo@bcoe.org
Tamara Collins-Parks, Ph.D.

Tamara Collins-Parks, Ph.D.

Full Time Lecturer/edTPA Coordinator/Graduate Advisor
Patricia Fernandez

Patricia Fernandez, Ed. D.

Professor 

Emailpatriciafernandez123@gmail.com

Rick Froehbrodt

Rick Froehbrodt, M.A.

Lecturer
Email: rfroehbrodt@sdsu.edu
Guillermo Gomez, Ph.D.

Guillermo Gomez, Ph.D.

Lecturer/Social Justice Educator/ SDUSD
Email: guillermoago@cox.net
Emily Jullie

Emily Jullié, M.A.

Lecturer/Language Examiner
Sarah Maheronnaghsh, Ph.D.

Sarah Maheronnaghsh, Ph.D.

Full Time Lecturer/ 
Single Subject Secondary & Multiple Subject Elementary Advisor
Phone: (619)594.3266
    Amanda Matas, Ph.D.

Amanda Matas, Ph.D.

Lecturer/Middle School Humanities Teacher
Phone: (619)261-1353
Email: mandymatas@hotmail.com
Robert Pollack

Robert Pollack, M.A.Ed.

Lecturer
 

Jorge A. Ramirez Delgado, Ed.D.

Lecturer
Phone: (619)426-2885
Email: jorge.ramirez@cvesd.org
carlos_ulloa.jpg

Carlos Ulloa, Ed.D.

Lecturer/Middle School Principal

Email: culloa@sdsu.edu
Read More About Dr. Carlos Ulloa


Supervisors


Lupe Holguin Buell, Ph.D.

Clinical Supervisor - Single Subject 
    Griselda Palma

Griselda Palma, Ph.D.

Bilingual Credential Program Supervisor
Rosalba Ponce Faculty pic

Rosalba Ponce, M.A.

Bilingual Credential Program Supervisor

Email: rponce@sdsu.edu

 

Sheila Solórzano, M.A.

Bilingual Credential Program Supervisor

Email: ssolorzano@sdsu.edu

 

Mary Waldron, M.A.

Clinical Supervisor - Multiple Subject 

Staff

esmeralda_cortes_faculty.jpg
 

Esmeralda Cortes, B.A.

Administrative Support Coordinator

Phone: 619.594.5155
Email:ecortes@sdsu.edu

elizabeth's staff photo

Elizabeth Delgado

Administrative Assistant
Phone: 619.594.5155
Email: dle@sdsu.edu
 
 


Valery Vega-Morelos

FES On-Site Support
Phone: 619.594.5155
Email: dle@sdsu.edu