Content Skip to content.
San Diego State University

Department of Child & Family Development

CFD Faculty & Staff

Our faculty is a key factor in the overall success and growth of the Department of Child and Family Development. Many of the faculty epitomize the concept of the teacher/scholar. That is, they are actively engaged in applied scholarly research; they are providing valuable service to the professional community; and they are incorporating a synthesis of these activities in the classroom. Students profit greatly by the Department's professionally active faculty who are able to gear their instruction around relevant, up-to-date topics within a scholarly context and tradition.

Some faculty members have recently published books; others have book contracts and/or books in press. Several faculty have achieved national and international attention for their published work, lectures, and grant activity. Many faculty have distinguished themselves for significant contributions to the community and the State. They provide valuable consultative services and assume positions of community leadership.

Tenure Track Faculty

Karen Myers-Bowman

Karen Myers-Bowman, Ph.D.

Department Chair & Professor

Location: EBA-403A
Phone: 619.594.0514
Email: kmyersbowman@sdsu.edu

Audrey Hokoda, Ph.D

Audrey Hokoda, Ph.D.

Professor

Location: EBA-415
Phone: 619.594.1591
Email: ahokoda@sdsu.edu

Read more about Dr. Hokoda 

Shulamit Ritblatt 2

Shulamit Ritblatt, Ph.D.

Professor

Location: EBA-427
Phone: 619.594.5312
Email: ritblatt@mail.sdsu.edu

Read more about Dr. Ritblatt

Sarah Garrity, Ed.D. New


Sarah Garrity, Ed.D.

Associate Professor

Location: EBA-413
Phone: 619.594.0857
Email: sgarrity@mail.sdsu.edu

Read more about Dr. Garrity 

 Sascha Longstreth, Ph.D. 

Sascha Longstreth, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Location: EBA-414
Phone: 619.594.1999
Email: 
slongstreth@mail.sdsu.edu

Read more about Dr. Longstreth

 Vanja Lazarevic

Vanja Lazarevic, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Location: EBA 411
Phone: 619.594.3384
Email: vlazarevic@mail.sdsu.edu

Read more about Dr. Lazarevic

 Lisa Linder, Ph.D.

Lisa Linder, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Location: EBA 422A
Email: llinder@mail.sdsu.edu

Read more about Dr. Linder

Sarah Rieth

Sarah Rieth, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor & LPCC Graduate Advisor

Location: EBA-407
Phone: 619.594.0932
Email: srieth@mail.sdsu.edu

Read more about Dr. Rieth

 Rachel Haine Schlagel

Rachel Haine-Schlagel, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Location: EBA 428
Phone: 619.594.0215
Email: rhaine@mail.sdsu.edu

Read more about Dr. Schlagel

Alyson Shapiro - Story

Alyson Shapiro, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor & M.S. Grad Advisor

Location: EBA-420A
Phone: 619.594.0934
Email: ashapiro@mail.sdsu.edu

Read more about Dr. Shapiro 

Lecturers

 Dan Bacon

Dan Bacon, M.A.

Full-time Lecturer & EC-TEaMH Advisor

Location: EBA-405
Phone: 619.594.2351
Email: dbacon@mail.sdsu.edu

Nory Behana

Nory Behana, M.S.

Lecturer

Location: EBA-401A
Phone: 619.594.4373
Email: ebehana@mail.sdsu.edu

Lisa Beltran

Lisa Beltran, M.S.

Lecturer

Location: EBA-400C
Email: lbeltran@mail.sdsu.edu

 Tammy Boates

Tammy Boates, M.S.

Lecturer

Location: EBA-400C
Email: tboates@cox.net 

Jacki Booth, Ph.D.

Jacki Booth, Ph.D.

Study Abroad Coordinator & Full-time Lecturer

Location: EBA-400B
Phone: 619.594.3711
Email: jbooth@mail.sdsu.edu

Joanne Brady

Joanne Brady, M.Ed.

Lecturer

Location: EBA-400C
Email: jbrady@mail.sdsu.edu

 Dr. Idara Essien-Wood

Idara Essien, Ph.D.

Full-Time Lecturer

Location: EBA 420

Email: iessienwood@sdsu.edu

Francesca Gallozzi

Francesca Gallozzi, M.A.

Full-time Lecturer

Location: EBA-404A
Phone: 619.594.0222
Email:  fgallozzi@mail.sdsu.edu

Pamela Gardner, M.S.

Pamela Gardner, M.S.

Undergraduate Advisor & Full-Time Lecturer

Location: EBA-259F
Phone: 619.594.7035
Email: pgardner@mail.sdsu.edu

Click Here for Walk-in Advising 

 Pradeep Gidwani

Pradeep Gidwani, MD MPH

Lecturer

Location: EBA-400C

Email:pgidwani@aapca3.org

 hj1 

Heather Jaffe, M.S.

Lecturer

Location: EBA-400C
Email: heather.jaffe@sdsu.edu
Nicole Kent, Ph.D.

Nicole Kent, Ph.D.

Lecturer

Location: EBA-422
Phone: 619.594.0518
Email: Nicole_MFT@yahoo.com

 Elizabeth Marucheau 

Elizabeth Marucheau, LCSW BCD

Lecturer

Location: EBA-401A
Phone: 619.594.4373
Email: emaruche@mail.sdsu.edu

Anne McLevie Spooner

Anne McLevie Spooner, M.S.

EC-TEaMH Reflective Supervisor

Location: EBA-418

Email: mcleviespooner@yahoo.com
Chris Muecke, M.Ed.

Chris Muecke, M.Ed.

Lecturer

Location: EBA-401A
Phone: 619.594.4373
Email: cmuecke@mail.sdsu.edu

Don Myers, Ph.D.

Don Myers, Ph.D.

Lecturer

Location: EBA-421
Email: donmyers@drdonmyers.com

Kathryn Owen

Kathryn Owen, M.S. 

Lecturer

Location: EBA-400C
Email: kjowen@ucsd.edu 

Carolyn Sanders

Carolyn Sanders, MSLM

Lecturer

Location: EBA-400C
Email: csanders@mail.sdsu.edu

 Margarette Sousa 

Margarette Sousa, Ph.D.

Lecturer

Location: EBA-400C
Email: mpsousa@att.net
Hsing-Chen Tung, Ed.D.

Hsing-Chen Tung, Ed.D.

Full-time Lecturer

Location: EBA-424
Phone: 619.594.4445
Email: htung@mail.sdsu.edu

Denise VonRotz

Denise VonRotz, MFT

EC-TEaMH Reflective Supervisor

Location: EBA 418A
Email: dvonrotz@msn.com

Chris Walsh

Christopher Walsh, MFT

Full-Time Lecturer, LPCC Clinical Director

Location: EBA-422
Phone: 619.594.0518
Email: christopher.walsh@mail.sdsu.edu

Chris Walsh

Barbara Wojtach, MSW

Lecturer

Location: EBA-400C
Email: Barbara.Wojtach@gcccd.edu

Emeritus

  

Thomas Roberts, Ph.D.

Email: troberts@mail.sdsu.edu


Carolyn Balkwell, Ph.D.

Email: balkwell@mail.sdsu.edu


Francine Deutsch, Ph.D.

Email: andante@mail.sdsu.edu


Helen Ross, Ph.D.

Email: hross@mail.sdsu.edu

Staff


Karen Bobczynski (KJ), M.A.

Department Coordinator

Location: EBA-403
Fax: 619.594.5921
Email: kbobczynski@mail.sdsu.edu

 

  

Crystal Flores, B.A.

Administrative Support Coordinator for Graduate Programs

Location: EBA-403
Phone: 619.594.5380
Fax: 619.594.5921
Email: grad-cfd@sdsu.edu